Formation of the Pacific Southwest Region 

History of the NMRA’s Pacific Southwest Region
by Don Fowler, MMR

The Pacific Southwest Region (PSR) officially began on June 1, 1982. Originally part of the Pacific Coast Region (PCR), our Region consists of four Divisions; Arizona, Cajon, Los Angeles, and San Diego covering the entire state of Arizona and the southern portions of California and Nevada.

The proposal to split the Pacific Coast Region was first presented at the PCR Board of Director’s Meeting at Reno, NV in October, 1980. The primary argument in favor of the proposed separation was due to the geographical and member size of the PCR and related difficulty in serving the large number of members at the region conventions. Los Angeles Division Director Robert A. Rowe recommended that the new region be known as the Pacific Southwest Region.

In January 1982, the membership of the PCR voted in favor of splitting their Region as recommended. Official approval from NMRA National was granted at the February 1982 mid-year board meeting of the Board of Trustees. On May 1, 1982 an unofficial first meeting of the PSR Directors and other interested Region members was held to propose a slate of officer candidates for the first election, held in June, 1982. Robert A. Rowe was elected as the new Region’s first President. The first official meeting of the PSR Officers and Directors was held on October 2, 1982 in Needles, CA. The first issue of the not yet named newsletter was published in October, 1982. In December, 1982 the name “PSR Dispatch” was approved with a logo designed by Bruce Briggs.

The first annual PSR Convention was held May 17-20, 1984 in Scottsdale, AZ with the title “Saguaro ‘84” and adjourned with the Region’s first Annual Membership Meeting on May 20, 1984.

Historical information for this article was derived from an original article by Marta Metcalf published in the NMRA Bulletin (date unknown).

Per Harwe Historian PSR-NMRA